Advocating Arts and Humanities through theater

About Us

We’re About the Arts and Humanities in SETX

Neither a museum nor a performance venue, the Southeast Texas Arts Council is the place for square-one funding of arts and humanities efforts. We promote. We advocate. We educate. We collaborate. It is our sole mission to uplift the inspired work of established and emerging arts and humanities programs in Jefferson, Hardin, and Orange Counties.


The Southeast Texas Arts Council (SETAC) strives to promote knowledge and appreciation of the arts and humanities in Jefferson, Orange, and Hardin Counties by providing financial assistance, publicity, administrative resources, and advocacy to arts and humanities organizations.


To make sure that arts and humanities would play a lead role in the growth of our communities, a group of inspired citizens put together the Southeast Texas Arts Council in the early 1970s. Representatives from the Southeast Texas Regional Planning Commission, Lamar University, and local arts organizations worked together to establish a central market for arts promotion — one that would offer fresh assistance in funding, advocacy, promotion, and collaboration.

Our Team

Composed of committed leaders in business, government, culture and the arts, the SETAC board keeps a finger on the pulse of the community. Along with at-large members, the SETAC team helps identify, collaborate, direct and participate in arts and culture programs for the benefit of all.

Board Officers

Board of Directors
Barri Hoffman – President
Penny LeLeux – VP Orange
Micah Leigh – VP Port Arthur
Sandra Laurette – VP Beaumont
Dexter Broussard – Treasurer
Pam Trosclair – Secretary

At Large
Maurice Abelman -♦♦- Zach Bowman -♦♦- Greg Busceme -♦♦- Michelle Cate -♦♦- Amy Elizabeth -♦♦- Albert Faggard -♦♦- Steve Hoffman -♦♦- Bridget Johnson -♦♦- Michael Meazell -♦♦- Debbie Hammon Pletcher -♦♦- Reese Ravencraft -♦♦- Sharae Bassett Reed -♦♦- Reggie Rogers -♦♦- Gloria Roy -♦♦- Joy-Del Snook -♦♦- Carolyn Thibodeaux -♦♦- Richard “Eddie” Vanderwalker -♦♦- Codie Vasquez

David Cargill


Executive Director
Sue Bard
Creative Director
Blake Bertrand